Lately

July 24, 2006

“Lately I’ve been feeling low, and a remedy’s what I’m looking for, cooking for.”

-Dave Matthews Band

That verse from DMB simply came to my mind right before I’d start to tell about what I’ve been up to lately.

I’m feeling good. Thank God my health has been OK, and that hasn’t been a problem since I left the hospital. I’ve been going to the gym for a couple of days now. I intend to keep on going, Lord willing.

I’m reading Thomas Keating. I’m practicing Centering Prayer. I’m doing a version I’ve got cooked that’s basically Centering Prayer and some practical lessons by Sakyong Rinpoche.

Amazing!It’s been a crazy 2 months. I’ve read a bunch of crazy philosophy and esoteric works. Fantastic works.

I read “Meetings with remarkable men” by Gurdjieff, half of “In search of the miraculous” by P.D. Ouspensky, listened to tons of Alan Watts from his audio archives. I’ve learned in 2 months a lot about Hinduism, Buddhism and Zen Buddhism. And I’ve learned about the ancient Jewish religion of the Old Testament and about Christianity too.

God is very good. And I’ve enjoyed this time very much. My life is very blessed. It’s always been. Thank God.

I hope you guys are OK. Please let me know how you’re doing.

 

2 Responses to “Lately”

  1. Anne Marie Says:

    I’m glad it’s been a good two months of learning and exploration for you, Gaston. I just wonder how in the world you’re finding the time for it all. Or perhaps you’re just making time. 🙂 I’m so glad that you’re finding life very blessed!

  2. dionpugil Says:

    Yes, I try and find the time. And also I steal time from other activities.

    For example: lot’s of audio material can be heard while driving. I’ve listened to Alan Watts and Joseph Campbell a lot while in the car. Also while I cook.

    I’ve got the advantage that Yeri studies medicine, so mostly she needs silence at home to read. I just plug my iPod and that’s it.

    She leaves for the hospital at 5 a.m. so I start the day at 5:40 a.m. I’ve got time for reading and Centering Prayer.

    I don’t always do it like this. But it’s been sorta the way I’ve been living.


Leave a Reply

