Malcolm Gladwell on the church

March 2, 2006

Malcolm Gladwell, author of “Blink” and “The Tipping Point” has written an article for The New Yorker called “The Cellular Church.” In it, he writes about Rick Warren, the guy from The Purpose Driven Life, and how he built his ministry.

I recommend this article for various reasons:

  • Gladwell is a good writer and as I’ve said before, reading good stuff is good for you.
  • It gives a very interesting and inspiring view of Rick Warren.
  • It talks about today’s evangelical church in the U.S. and worldwide.

Honestly, it’s changed my mind about how I thought about Rick Warren. I confess that I used to be an idiot in thinking that simply because someone has made millions of dollars from a book, then that he was some sort of superficial, “light” christian guy (as opposed to poor and deep) (man am I stupid). Warren’s got what I’d call [sorry for the language] balls. He’s got a strong faith and will.

Let me know what you think.

One Response to “Malcolm Gladwell on the church”

  1. kingsjoy Says:

    I’m with you, Gaston. I’ve been poo-pooing him for oversimplifying the Gospel in the Purpose Driven books. But is sounds as though he is actually doing the Gospel, as far as the poor, etc. And the small groups element I think is really good.

    We’ve sort of formed our own small group here online, and it really helps. We don’t all agree on every small detail. But we learn and grow together. A real life small group would doubtless be even better. The small groups I’ve participated in have been so stilted and stiff that I am gunshy about joining one. But a good one could be really good.


Leave a Reply

