Good writing

January 31, 2006

Man do I love good writers. Paul Graham, a painter and computer hacker (maybe Kevin’s heard of him) writes on subjects that range from painting, to programming, to being in elemetary school, to doing business. Here are two examples I’d like to recommend. Some might be a little long, so if you have a printer you might want to print them. Believe me, give this guy a chance, he’s awsome.

What you wish you’d known.

How to do what you love.

Now on a completely different subject, yesterday I came upon an article that I thought was great. It’s written by a Buddhist Nun. It’s on a practice called Tonglen. Great stuff. Really.
The practice of Tonglen.

Oh and by the way, if after reading Graham’s essays you think the guy’s one of the coolest dudes. Here’s the link to all his essays: Paul Graham.

3 Responses to “Good writing”

  1. Anne Says:

    I really liked that article about Tonglen – thanks so much for posting that. Breathe in, breathe out….I’ll have to try putting that in practice.

  2. Seraphim Says:

    Just popping in to say hello. Thanks for commenting on my thread. Wife and Daughter are well. I’m looking at surgery for a herniated disc in my lower back (the center of the disc is resting {HAH} on my cyatic nerve, I truly understand what a pain in the butt really is…) and am looking forward to the relief that should bring.

    My wifes’s WC case is winding down, but her pain seems to be increasing with theraphy & visits to the pain docs…

    ah well. Life is problems. Living is solving them.

    LYB

    Seraphim

  3. Joseph Famulus Says:

    Tonglen…in order to have compassion for others, we have to have compassion for ourselves. What else can be said?
    Thanks so much for posting that.


Leave a Reply

