Victim, Kingjoy, and some of my thoughts

January 9, 2006

My friend David wrote a very good post titled Victim. And all of these are sort of my current thoughts on some of the things the talks about.
Last night my wife asked me “Will only the just be saved?”

“No” I answered.

“Because I’m not just.” She said.

“How many just people are there? How many does the Bible say there is?”

“None.”

“Then that’s it. Everyone will be saved.” I said. And then I said some more. Some of which I’ll try to write here.

I remember once looking in the Dictionary for the definition of God. It said in very simple, yet very powerful words, “The Supreme Being.” Wow. I was sort of waiting for a more complicated answer. Some sort of explanation of who God was. But the definition was pretty clear. It implied that God was one (singular), a being, and that he was amongst beings, the supreme one.

Yesterday after my wife asked me about the salvation of the unjust, that definition came to me immediately. I said “God is the supreme being. God is above us in every single way that we can think of.” That means that there is no single subject we can think of, no matter how complicated or whatever, in which God is not above and superior to us. I told her that I did not believe God wastes any time (if that’s possible) in keeping a record of wrongs or rights, of just or unjust. He’s simply above everything. God is love.

And just as a reminder, let’s not forget that according to the Bible’s definition of love, “… love keeps no record of wrong.” No record? Yes, no record. So if God is love, God has no record of our wrongs. How about that? Sounds good to me.

And I agree with David’s idea of salvation. If God has saved the world. Well, he has saved the world. He has done it. Missions, as far as I can tell, should be ourselves telling people the Good News, not that if they become christians God will receive them in their family, but that God has set things right and they are part of the family.

As you know. I’ve been reading only Matthew 6:6 lately. Only that. The more I read it the more things I believe I’m learning from only those verses about prayer. Here’s one of the most shocking things in all of those verses. Jesus is speaking with his disciples and says this to them “go into your room (your enclosed room), and pray to your Father who is in secret.”

“Yeah so what?” you might say. Well here’s the shocking thing. In most churches we get taught that we should repent and receive Jesus so that we can be with God. But here is Jesus telling people that God is already inside them! He speaks as if it’s not even an issue the whole “where is God?” thing. God is there! Talk to Him. Oh, and by the way, He is your Father.

This concept of God being always with people is absolutely revolutionary! God is with the people. And in that sense you can speak with God in secret as Adam did in the evening in Eden. It’s totally amazing!

Now here is what I think is the whole damage Satan causes. Anything that makes us fear God, avoid God, and think that we can’t be with Him, is to evil’s gain. I think it’s amazing the amount of energy that sons and daughters of God waste in feeling guilty and trying to pray to a God that they think is not OK with them. It’s years and years of a life wasted, not understanding that Jesus taught us that prayer should be a familiar talk with our Father… who is not “in heaven”… but “in secret” inside ourselves. That’s what must be the sad part. Avoiding God. Fear of God. Rejection of being “connected.”

Anyways. I’ve lost track. I forgot my point. But it’s simply this: I think God is above us. He saved us all from being apart from Him. That’s it. It’s done. He wants people. He’s not keeping a record of wrong because that’s against his very nature. He’s not human! We’ve got to stop reflecting our own wicked ways at God’s being. He is NOT like we are. NOT AT ALL. We should think about that more often. Jesus was perfect in every way, and showed perfect love, compassion, justice, mercy. Everything good, He did.

So anyways. I liked your post David. Sorry for rambling this way.

5 Responses to “Victim, Kingjoy, and some of my thoughts”

  1. Yorch Says:

    This the first time I post anything in a blog, and hope I can make it short.
    Taking it from…”…let’s not forget that according to the Bible’s definition of love,”…love keeps no record of wrong.”…, I really would like to stick to that. I vouch for that. And this paragraph stated by dionpugil easy leads me to what CS Lewis wrote in MERE CHRISTIANITY:

    “Joy is the serious business of heaven”

  2. darla Says:

    hey gaston, is this your dad??

  3. dionpugil Says:

    Yes, this is my dad.

  4. darla Says:

    oh, how awesome! if you come back, hi yorch! thanks for your post! you’ve got one great son… which i’m sure you already know. 🙂 he has added so much wisdom to my own journey. and thank you for the c.s. lewis quote. i haven’t read mere christianity in quite some years… maybe it’s time to pick it up again!


  5. Gaston,

    I am as encouraged by this post tonight as I was over a week ago when you posted it. Thanks for the great ramblings.


Leave a Reply

