Velvet Elvis for an hour

December 10, 2005

I started Velvet Elvis today. It gave me hope. It gave me peace. I’m not that crazy.

I liked the way Rob Bell says (paraphrasing) What if many of the things the Bible says are proven wrong? What if some historical details are innacurate? What if some of the traditions we hold will not stand the test of time? Is our faith going to crumble? Is our faith a flexible living thing or is it a brick wall?

I don’t know. It’s just that the rigid customs of most christians make me so uncomfortable that I usually have to pretend to be a little like them. If not, I have to go on “defending” the why I am like I am. Heck, can’t people just be? Is that too much to ask?

Anyways, as I was walking today reading the book towards an Art Fair, I met one of my younger cousins. She’s got a brand new baby girl and she’s been having a sort of hard time. She’s a single mom. She asked what I was reading and she seemed interested.

Pray for her if you can. She walked away with the book.

3 Responses to “Velvet Elvis for an hour”

  1. Seraphim Says:

    Hey, I’ve read ‘Velvet Elvis’ and it gave me hope too. I’ll be blogging soon about two other books that I think are transformational.

    One is Revolution, and the other is The Way of Jesus: A Journey of Freedom for Pilgrims and Wanderers. I’m very excited about what I’m discovering, but fearful about being able to do anything with the information!

    LOL

    LYB

    I’shalom

    Seraphim

  2. dionpugil Says:

    Seraphim, do write about it man.

    Don’t worry about being able to do anything with the information. God will bring it about in you. I don’t know when, but at least I’m sure of something. Being hopeful and exited about God is better than not being. 🙂 So even if you don’t know what’s gonna happen, I’d say you’re on the right track.


  3. It’s just that the rigid customs of most christians make me so uncomfortable that I usually have to pretend to be a little like them. If not, I have to go on “defending? the why I am like I am. Heck, can’t people just be? Is that too much to ask?

    I think that you have captured so much of the story of my Christian experience. Thanks 🙂


Leave a Reply

