What it’s all about

December 2, 2005

Questions make me feel lost sometimes. Like I’m off track.

Is it wrong that I question things? Could it be that I don’t know God? Am I supposed to believe everything that’s in the Bible and never have questions? Am I trying to be philosophical insted of a christian? Am I going off track?

Since I’ve been having some of these “tough” questions I decided I should talk to someone who could understand me and give me some advice. So this morning I called Brother George.

Brother George is a Benedictine Monk who was my history teacher in high school. He’s just like you imagined: white beard, belly, sandals, round glasses and a really big smile. He was the toughest teacher I’ve ever had. He demanded all you had and more. He has dedicated his entire life to his vows of poverty, silence and giving shelter. He’s adopted and raised 44 kids during his life. Most of whom are already independent and in college. He’s now raising a couple of kids. Identical twins!

So I call him up and after we say hello I tell him “George, I need to go and see you. I’ve got some weird hard questions about religion, life, and God. I really need to talk to you.”

“That’s what it’s all about my boy. God expects nothing less from you. Asking tough questions is the least you can do.”

What a different perspective. I was taught in church to “not go around questioning God.” “You think too much” everyone would say.

George says it’s the least God expects from me. I guess it’s true. To love God with all your heart, soul and mind, you have to dive right into it all. Dive into the mystery. Dive into the Word. Dive into prayer. It’s the least I can do.

5 Responses to “What it’s all about”

  1. kingsjoy Says:

    Thank God for Brother George. I’m really glad for you, Gaston. Sounds like a prayer answered. –David

  2. dionpugil Says:

    Yes. He’s a good guy. Sweet old man with a fierce intellect and a big heart.

    He was a atheist you know? He once entered a church just to get cover from the rain outside. Sitting there, he says he felt that he was in an absurd position as an atheist. He cried.

    After his conversion to belief in God. He mothodically studied which church to belong to. He was either going to become Eastern Orthodox or Roman Catholic. He immediately knew he would not become a protestant. Too much disorder he says.

    He later on got ordained as a monk in a Benedictine Monastery in Belgium I think.

    So like he always says: “God speed.”

  3. darla Says:

    “You think too much? everyone would say.

    i’m sorry people said this to you…. almost like christians can’t think… we’re supposed to just be these mindless sponges who soak up everything the preacher tells us, never forming any kind of intelligent thoughts of our own… i think the reason leaders in the church may say not to question God (i’ve heard it’s because it shows a lack of faith??) is beecause they’re SCARED… they’re SCARED that you just might ask a question that THEY can’t answer…. that through all of their theological training, they DON’T have all the answers…. i’m glad you called George… is he someone you get together with regularly, i.e., like a mentor? he sounds like he would have a lot of wisdom… not answers per se, but wisdom! 🙂

  4. dionpugil Says:

    Yes. I hope to see him regularly. All I have to do is call him up every once in a while.

    😀

    And I agree that it’s not lack of faith that drives people to ask questions. It’s their seeking will. What would happen if we all just as a Body stop asking questions forever? Will there be any moving foreward? Will anyone be able to see God in any new way? Will we be able to seek with all our hearts? Isn’t asking a part of seeking?

  5. Anne Says:

    It’s early morning and I’m still waking up with a second cup of coffee. But as soon as I read those words, “asking hard questions is the least you can do”, I just broke out in a huge smile. Somehow we just know when we stumble across someone like your lovely monk who speaks truth to us – a brave and loving soul who welcomes getting down on the mat with you and wrestling with God.


Leave a Reply

