Narcissist

November 5, 2005

The dictionary definition of narcissism is:

Excessive interest in one’s own self, importance, abilities, etc.; egocentrism.

There’s no doubt about it. I’m a narcissist.

While we’re on the subject, here’s a great quote:

Bore: a person of low taste, more interested in himself than in me.

-Ambrose Bierce

2 Responses to “Narcissist”

  1. kingsjoy Says:

    Gaston, welcome to the Narcissist Club. Wonder how much it has to do with our personality profile–ya know, the introvert.

    I don’t know who Ambrose Bierce is, but that is really a funny quote.

    [Edit] I googled and see that he was a fiction writer from the late 19th century. Hadn’t heard of him before. Have you read his stuff?

  2. dionpugil Says:

    Nope, I haven’t read any of his things, but I’m reading “A Theory of Everything” and I stole the quote from there. I’m sure it’s got a lot to do with our profile. In that book Ken Wilber explains how Developmental Psichology states that we narcissists are somewhat below the “best stage” we could attain psichologically. The less into ourselves we can become the better. Human’s move naturally from “me” to “us” to “all of us.” Only kids from 0 to 6 are in the “me” stage and then evolve. So we are what could be considered grown up “babies.” I guess it’s not that bad as long as we also reach into our better selves and think in an “all of us” way from time to time. 🙂 So my wife’s been right all these years!


Leave a Reply

