Chaim Potok’s The Chosen

October 31, 2005

I read “The Chosen” by Chaim Potok for the first time about 5 years ago. The book tells the story of two young Jewish kids from different backgrounds and how they become best friends.

I recommend this book to christians because it teaches about accepting people who don’t have the same religious customs as you but that belong to the same religion.

It’s a powerful story. You’ll cry of sadness and of joy. You’ll love it.

The Chosen in Amazon

6 Responses to “Chaim Potok’s The Chosen”

  1. Darla Says:

    thanks for the suggestion…. i looked it up at our library and i’ll be picking up a copy tomorrow. i’m glad to find your blog… i have enjoyed your postings on the ooze… seems like there’s a few of us on a very similar journey! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. dionpugil Says:

    I’m so glad you’re here. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Oh go and get a copy, it’s a beautiful book.

  3. Anne Says:

    Dion, I used to read Chaim Potok years and years ago. Thank you for the reminder and the recommendation of The Chosen. I used to wish I was Jewish when I read his work. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks as well for your encouraging comments about my spiritual conversation with my atheist friend – sometimes I don’t know what other Christ followers will think of how I look more for the commonalities we share rather than evangelizing. I think I’ll try to live with less guilt!

  4. Dion Says:

    Anne, every time I read his books I wish I were jewish too. I wish I was a part of that crazy community of passionate Hassidic Jews. They study and learn so much about scriptures.

    I think it’s just proof of how great Chaim Potok’s books are. Tell me, have you read My Name is Asher Lev? It’s a must for every artist to read. Even more so for any artist with a religious life.

    What can I say about your atheist friend? Of my friends, I enjoy talking to most with an atheist friend of mine. I’ve felt the guilt. I understand what you mean. But I guess it’s as important for me to respect his beliefs as it is for me that he respects mine.

    Or do we think that people should respect us for believing but we should not respect other people’s decisions? I’m sure everyone’s got his point of view. I’m simply living mine.

    Another thought. I wouldn’t like feeling that someone behaves friendly with me simply because he/she wants me to “convert” to their beliefs. Seems weird to me.

    I think your true friendship is worth much more than words.

  5. Darla Says:

    okay dion!! you just cost me 38.00 at barnes and nobles. i went in to pick up a copy of the chosen, and came out with the chosen, letters to a young poet, by rainer maria rilke, and anne rice’s new novel, christ the lord out of egypt – oh, plus an iced sugar free vanilla coffee!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. dionpugil Says:

    Man oh man! I have to confess that I feel no guilt whatsoever. I remember being a teenager and giving pot to my cousins and leading them astray. That deserves some guilt.

    But books? I’ll never feel guilty for making people read books. The more people read the better they usually become.

    But now because of all this talking about The Chosen I’ll have to read it again.


Leave a Reply

